Festival musings/moping from across the pond

The Adelaide Fringe Festival (Feb 18 – Mar 13) has just announced their award winners. I’ve been vaguely following the festival, mostly through Aussie tweets. A lot of the comedians I love have been performing there or at the Brisbane Comedy Festival (Mar 1-27), and everyone who’s anyone has been prepping for their Melbourne International Comedy Festival (Mar 30 – Apr 24) shows. All I can do is read reviews from afar, and it pains me.

From the sounds of things, Sam Simmons has another stellar show. ‘The Precise History Of Things’ has just won the Adelaide Fringe award for best comedy. The Brisbane Comedy Festival lineup is beyond brilliant. It features many of my favourite comedians, plus a good few who didn’t come to Melbourne while I was there. I am crushed that I’m missing Asher Treleaven’s new show Matadoor (teehee), Dave Thornton, Geraldine Quinn (one of my massive regrets from MICF 2010 was that I didn’t see ‘Shut Up and Sing’), Stephen K Amos, Wil Anderson, and above all my comedy crush Mark Watson.

I know this feeling of missing out will just get worse when the Melbourne Comedy Festival starts. I will just keep whingeing, and follow the fests as best I can through sites like Chortle (AUS) (which used to be the Groggy Squirrel). Unfortunately The Herald Sun is now sponsoring the MICF instead of The Age, so that’s probably going to have a negative effect on the quality (and quantity?) of reviews from a mainstream newspaper.

At least I have Just for Laughs (July 14-31) to look forward to. They’ve announced Louis CK as their comedy person of the year (no duh), and the Comedy Conference (July 28-30) will have Marc Maron as keynote and Andy Kindler to close. I’ve also found out that one of my comedy heroes Sammy J will be performing at the fest. Australia represent!

About whoseroses

Rose is an arts administrator from Victoria, BC. She has worked at some of Canada's biggest and best festivals, including the Victoria Fringe Festival, Just for Laughs in Montreal, the Winnipeg Folk Festival, and the Victoria Film Festival. She co-founded the Winnipeg Spoken Word Festival, and helps produce the Victoria Spoken Word Festival. Rose is a graduate of Camosun College's Applied Communication Program, and is passionate about theatre, spoken word, comedy, and her community. She runs on festivals.
This entry was posted in comedy, soliloquy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

