Tim Key, poet

So I’m headed to Montreal in April to intern at Just for Laughs! If I used the word ‘stoked,’ I’d say I’m stoked. But I don’t. So I’ll just say I’m REALLY EXCITED!!

I’ve been holding back on blogging about Tim Key because I hold him close to my heart.

I saw his Edinburgh Comedy Festival Main Award-winning show The Slutcracker at the MICF this year, and it positively blew my mind. It is one of the best pieces of theatre I have EVER seen, by a LONG shot. At MICF, I saw some shows that I would rate 5/5 stars. The Slutcracker is so much better than 5/5 stars that the star rating system just doesn’t apply. You can’t apply a star rating to a work of genius. It would be like rating the Mona Lisa. You just don’t do it.

The Slutcracker has nothing to do with sluts. Or crackers. It does contain some short poems (quite a few of them), as well as Tim Key stepping in a cake. And being lifted onto a fridge by audience members. Amongst other things. The MICF show guide described the show as:

Tim Key serves up a confused procession of idiosyncratic poetry and prose. Brittle poems, inspired lists and loony set-pieces are cobbled together into a precarious, highly inventive performance.

Key (34) has recently had a suit tailored for him in Shanghai. He arrives in Australia looking as smart as hell with a show that is charming, sharp and suitable both for sluts and regular civilians.

So that explains that…

Tim has done numerous comedy shows (I daren’t call them stand-up; they really aren’t), including a couple of comedic ‘poetry shows’ (The Slut in the Hut and The Slutcracker). He has also done quite a lot of TV and radio work, written some books, and put out a CD.

Tim was question master on BBC show We Need Answers (2009-2010), co-presented with Mark Watson (-heart-) and Alex Horne. We Need Answers was a panel game show in which celebrity contestants answered questions that had been texted in by the audience (it’s more fun than it sounds, mostly because the hosts are SO GREAT). The show brought about the delightful web-exclusive game No More Women, a game that Mark and Tim invented some years earlier. I have attempted to play No More Women, and wasn’t as adorable as Mark and Tim. Drat.

Tim is a member of comedy act Cowards, along with Lloyd Woolf, Stefan Golaszewski, and Tom Basden. Cowards have performed shows together, done two radio series, and had a short TV series on the BBC.

In addition to his radio, TV, and comedy show work, Tim has written two books, 25 Poems, 3 Recipes and 32 Other Suggestions (An Inventory) and Instructions, Guidelines, Tutelage, Suggestions, Other Suggestions and Examples Etc.: An Attempted Book By Tim Key. (And Conversations/ Descriptions/ A Piece About A Moth). If you’re at all familiar with John Hodgman’s (aka “I’m a PC”) The Areas of My Expertise, Tim’s books are a similar mess of lists, thoughts, and “facts.”

Last month, Tim released a CD of his poems, Tim Key. With a String Quartet. On a Boat. It’s pretty much what it sounds like. You really must watch him read some of his poems:

About whoseroses

Rose is an arts administrator from Victoria, BC. She has worked at some of Canada's biggest and best festivals, including the Victoria Fringe Festival, Just for Laughs in Montreal, the Winnipeg Folk Festival, and the Victoria Film Festival. She co-founded the Winnipeg Spoken Word Festival, and helps produce the Victoria Spoken Word Festival. Rose is a graduate of Camosun College's Applied Communication Program, and is passionate about theatre, spoken word, comedy, and her community. She runs on festivals.
This entry was posted in comedy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tim Key, poet

  1. Simone says:

    What a lovely blog; you’re a person of my own heart.

    I hope you have a blast at Just For Laughs. I am very jealous.

Leave a Reply

