Looking for: comedy TV show, 18-35, *must* have GSOH!

I recently had a small crisis. I’d caught up with The Big Bang Theory, gotten sick of How I Met Your Mother, and was left in terrible horrible no-good very-not-fun limbo with Running Wilde.

I had run out of comedy shows to watch.

So I put out a call on Facebook. What comedy show should I add to my TV-viewing roster? The responses I got were:

  • The Inbetweeners
  • The Mighty Boosh
  • The IT Crowd
  • Clone High
  • Invader Zim
  • Adventure Time
  • Black Books
  • 30 Rock
  • Parks and Recreation
  • Community
  • Modern Family
  • The Office
  • South Park
  • It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia

This is a huge list to choose from! What do I have to complain about!?!?

So. The next step is to check out these shows, and hopefully within them is one (or more!) that will touch my heart, my head, and my funny bone (but not in that annoying stinging way like when you actually hit your funny bone against a table) and have me committed for life/until FOX cancels it.

I have already seen some episodes of The Mighty Boosh and Clone High. They’re both really good shows. I should revisit them.

After reading over this list, I checked out the first four episodes of Modern Family and didn’t find myself hooked. It’s not very funny. I also started checking out It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia. I’m not sure yet whether it’s a keeper, but I’m not willing to give up on it just now.

What shows are missing from the list? What’s you’re FAVOURITE comedy TV show? (Mine are probably Arrested Development and Home Movies.)

About whoseroses

Rose is an arts administrator from Victoria, BC. She has worked at some of Canada's biggest and best festivals, including the Victoria Fringe Festival, Just for Laughs in Montreal, the Winnipeg Folk Festival, and the Victoria Film Festival. She co-founded the Winnipeg Spoken Word Festival, and helps produce the Victoria Spoken Word Festival. Rose is a graduate of Camosun College's Applied Communication Program, and is passionate about theatre, spoken word, comedy, and her community. She runs on festivals.
This entry was posted in comedy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

